Home > Faculty > James Samuel receives Regents Professor Award

James Samuel receives Regents Professor Award

James Samuel, Ph.D., professor at the Texas A&M Health Science Center College of Medicine, chair of the Department of Microbial Pathogenesis and Immunology, and Wofford Cain Endowed Chair in Infectious Disease, is one of the latest recipients of the prestigious Regents Professor Award. The Texas A&M University System Board of Regents granted these designations during its November 12 meeting. 20151104_Dr_James_Samuel_45_edited

Established in 1996, the Regents Professor Award is bestowed annually in recognition of employees who have made exemplary contributions to their university or agency and to the people of Texas. The designation of emeritus/emerita recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the university and the system through their dedicated service, upon retirement. The title is added to each faculty member’s current designation or rank.

Samuel has been an integral part of the College of Medicine faculty since 1994 and has led the Department of Microbial Pathogenesis and Immunology as Department Chair down a productive and innovative path since 2010.

Samuel received his undergraduate degree from Miami University in Oxford, Ohio, and a master’s degree and Ph.D. from Washington State University in Pullman, Wash. He received post-doctoral training at the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences in Bethesda, Md., and worked in the Biotechnology arena for Battelle Memorial Institute and MicroCarb, Inc., prior to joining the College of Medicine. He has authored more than 92 peer-reviewed manuscripts and is a national and international expert on Q fever.

Lynne Opperman, Ph.D., professor in the department of biomedical sciences at Texas A&M University Baylor College of Dentistry was also a recipient of the Regents Professor Award. Jean Brender, Ph.D., RN, who served as both professor of epidemiology and associate dean for research at the Texas A&M School of Public Health, was also formally awarded the Professor Emerita status.

You may also like
Samuel named College of Medicine Wofford Cain Chair in Infectious Disease