Home > College > Farida Sohrabji named Presidential Impact Fellow

Farida Sohrabji named Presidential Impact Fellow

Texas A&M University President Michael K. Young and Provost Karan L. Watson have announced a new faculty honor: Presidential Impact Fellows. The new award, which is among the most prestigious ever presented to Texas A&M faculty, was given to four faculty members at the Texas A&M University Health Science Center.

Farida Sohrabji, PhD, professor and associate chair in the Department of Neuroscience and Experimental Therapeutics at the College of Medicine, was named as one of the new fellows. One of her main research interests is how medical conditions, especially strokes, affect men and women differently.

More specifically, Sohrabji’s research program focuses on brain-immune interactions regulated by estrogen and its implications for neuro-inflammatory diseases such as stroke in women. Additionally, she is also interested in estrogen’s interactions with other endogenous and environmental endocrine mediators, including Vitamin D hormone and the peptide hormone Insulin-like Growth Factor (IGF)-1. Her current studies use an animal model to examine age and sex differences in recovery from stroke, focusing at the cellular level on the endothelium and astrocytes, which are the principal components of the blood brain barrier. At the molecular level, she and her team are examining sex and age differences in miRNA and epigenetic markers, with a view to developing biomarkers for diseases and uncovering new therapeutic targets.

Sohrabji serves as the Director of the Women’s Health in Neuroscience Program at the College of Medicine, is on the steering committee of the Texas Alzheimer’s Research and Care Consortium (TARCC), and is a faculty member with the Texas A&M Institute for Neuroscience (TAMIN). Recently, Sohrabji was also elected Fellow of the American Heart Association’s Stroke Council.

The inaugural class of Presidential Impact Fellows also includes 20 other faculty members, each of whom will receive an annual stipend of $25,000 for the next three fiscal years to accelerate their teaching, research and service efforts, and will also include the title of Presidential Impact Fellow for life. In addition, each recipient will receive a glass art memento reflecting the synergy of transformational learning, discovery, and impact achieved through Texas A&M’s commitment to creating a better world and were honored officially at a ceremony on March 21.

Each recipient was identified by their dean and confirmed by academic leadership. They are considered candidates for continued or new national and international acclaim and will utilize this honor to participate in national dialogue, advance their scholarship and create new partnerships.

“Texas A&M University faculty advance knowledge through transformational learning, discovery, innovation and impact for Texas and the world,” Young said. “Today, we acknowledge a new investment in the excellence of select faculty who through their scholarship, personal commitment and results demonstrate they are rising to meet the challenges of their field and demonstrating impact towards creating a better world. I am proud to name these faculty as the inaugural Presidential Impact Fellows.”

Modified from a release issued by Texas A&M. For more on the award and the inaugural class, visit https://today.tamu.edu/2017/03/07/texas-am-announces-new-presidential-impact-faculty-awards/